Using Voice thread in the classroom

Voicethread is one of those tools that I have only just discovered and wish I had done so a few weeks back. In case you don’t know it’s

a place for creating and collaborating on digital stories and documentaries, practicing and documenting language skills, exploring geography and culture, solving math problems or simply finding and honing student voices.

I have used it with my class to document a school trip and I asked them to do it in Spanish, their mother language. The Voicethread I have started only contains two slides and 2 comments but the potential as a documentary tool is impressive. You can see for yourself here.

vt1

I will use this more over the coming weeks as a documentation tool for picking out the best parts of the school year. I intend to ask the class for their favourite moments and then build up threads for the class to use. Once started I will ask them to build up their own voicethreads.

N.B. It is quite straight forward to set up an educator account which gives you unlimited voice thread options.

