Myst V – Day 2

Wow! What an amazing lesson we had today. The collective sigh of extreme disappointment that the class let out when I had to stop the lesson was felt around the room.

We picked up from Friday’s first exploration by discussing what might happen next, who we might meet and the clues we have found. I provided my class with a template to work from and they discussed the following questions with their buddy (working partner).

  • We have met two characters – Yeesha and Esher, both have stories to tell. But do you trust one character more than the other? Who do you trust? Explain your answers.
  • What is Myst? Can you describe the world that we have encountered so far? What other places do you think we might find?
  • What are your thoughts and feelings so far about Myst?

The children sat working diligently for 20 minutes as I walked around joining in on conversations, asking questions and listening to their responses and explanations. I have only witnessed this level of interaction from my class when we have been on excursions or during Science experiments but never in a Literacy lesson. The level of anticipation grew as I invited buddies to speak to the class.

And then the windows were closed, lights switched off and the door firmly shut so that we could continue on our quest.

Amazing!

